Kayak Fishing Forums Forum Index Kayak Fishing Forums
Sponsored by


 FAQHome   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumView Album   RegisterRegister 
ProfilePost Photo   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Click here to register. It's free!

New angler friendly kayak

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Kayak Fishing Forums Forum Index -> Kayak Rigging & Outfitting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
staft



Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:42 pm    Post subject: New angler friendly kayak Reply with quote

hi all, I am new to this blog but I have been kayak fishing for a while. I have seen people rig their kayaks for fishing. I was at the Outdoor Retailer in Utah last week and I think I found a great kayak that is really angler friendly. it has access panels on it for rod holders and any other equipment and it has an electric motor feature for trolling. the electronics of this boat are the coolest thing. it has a fulling integrated system, hands free steering, cruise control, and auto pilot. its only $2700, which a very reasonable price. you can check the boat our here: www.voltboats.com. I've preordered one for my dad but they dont start production until next year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Howard



Joined: 22 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox is giving me a warning about this website. Probably nothing bad, but just reporting

Quote:
This Connection is Untrusted

You have asked Firefox to connect
securely to www.voltboats.com., but we can't confirm that your connection is secure.

Normally, when you try to connect securely,
sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are
going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified.

What Should I Do?

If you usually connect to
this site without problems, this error could mean that someone is
trying to impersonate the site, and you shouldn't continue.

Technical Details

www.voltboats.com. uses an invalid security certificate.

The certificate is only valid for the following names:
www.voltboats.com , voltboats.com

(Error code: ssl_error_bad_cert_domain)

_________________
Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jim Day



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 1205

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howard wrote:
Firefox is giving me a warning about this website. Probably nothing bad, but just reporting ....


It's due to a syntax error.... he has an extra period in the URL..

This is actually a pretty weird one.

The post is obviously spam.... Looks like a new company trying to get established. They are taking preorders for Yaks that are evidently not in production.

The boat is actually kind of a combination of technologies, a kayak and science project, with a lot of weird off the shelf hardware combined in kind of a mishmash package.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTH_4VRSTX8

I mean I'm no stranger to funky designs but I don't get it.

That huge gearbox he's using looks like it's better suited for automatic gates then a boat. Combined with the actual motor and steering system it must weigh almost as much as a 2hp honda motor. The prop is on an long odd curved extended shaft which has got to increase drag.

There's no guard on it, which honestly makes it look kind of dangerous considering how far out it sticks out from the boat.

It essentially has a electronic "fly by wire" steering where a joystick controls speed, and direction, like with a computer game. It also has GPS and microprocessor controlled autopilot, that can be programed to automatically return you to your launch site.

Interesting.... you betcha but not something I would want to own.

Honestly that just looks like too many things that could go wrong.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregAndrew



Joined: 27 Jan 2009
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know, I can see lots of potential for that boat. It opens up lots of doors for less athletic and/or handicapped people. Not for the current breed of hard core kayak anglers, but potential to open doors to new hard core kayak anglers. Their marketing kinda stinks though, trying to sell it as "green" to kayak anglers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Howard



Joined: 22 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jim Day wrote:


Honestly that just looks like too many things that could go wrong.

Jim

Thanks Jim. Not being very techy, I get scared when firefox has a hissy-fit.

I agree with both you and Greg. This looks like a science project designed with enough zip to lure folks with $3K who like the idea of owning their own yacht but don't have that kind of cash... or folks with $3K who like the idea of kayaking but lack the rotator cuffs and are not weather-beaten waterman.

The overall *idea* of the package is nice, but being an early adopter of this particular technology design is for those who have money to burn. In 10-years, having a gps autopilot with integrated memory mapping honey-hole fish-finder will be standard equipment. This is but a feeble early transition to the fully integrated personal fishing craft of the future.

I love the green angle. That's a hint that a big o'chunk of blarney is involved: like a dead squid on a MegaBait...
_________________
Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surfsup



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wonder how legit this boat is. i mean the video never showed the boat actually working. $100 per deposit could make for a very lucrative scam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Politi-Cal



Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 410
Location: Encino

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

surfsup wrote:
i wonder how legit this boat is. i mean the video never showed the boat actually working. $100 per deposit could make for a very lucrative scam.


That is what I was thinking. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Kayak Fishing Forums Forum Index -> Kayak Rigging & Outfitting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum